Sparrow - Calypso Maestro

Track listing: 
  • Steelband Music
  • Cuatro Man
  • Don't hold me
  • Slight mistake
  • Neurosis
  • Wine back
  • Ah diggin horrors
  • Song of your land
  • Wife and Boat
  • Poopsin Poopsin

This LP on the RA label was recorded in 1974 at the Caribbean Sound Studios in Trinidad. Calypso is beginning to turn into Soca ( Soul of calypso ) with its more up-tempo disco beat and use of synthsisers etc. I much prefer the earlier acoustic sound but still we have some amusing songs here despite the synthetic sounding instruments and production.

The following information is from the site http:\\
"With his ultra-sweet vocals and lyrics that speak of romance and topical politics, Mighty Sparrow (born Slinger Francisco) has risen to the upper echelon of Trinidadian calypso. Best known for his hits "Jean And Dinah" in 1956 and "Carnival Boycott" in 1957, Sparrow is an 11-time winner of the calypso monarchy and an eight-time winner of Trinidad and Tobago's Carnival Road March competition.

Born to a poor working class family in Gran Roi, a small fishing village in Grenada, Sparrow moved to Trinidad at the age of one. Learning to sing in the boy's choir of St. Patrick's Catholic Church, he became the head choirboy. At the age of 14, he formed a steel band to perform at the Carnival, sparking his interest in calypso.

Teaching himself to play guitar, Sparrow began to write his own songs. Winning the Carnival competition with "Jean And Dinah," he received a grand prize of 40 dollars. In protest, he wrote a scorching indictment of the Trinidadian music industry, "Carnival Boycott." Despite his refusal to compete in the Carnival contests for the next three years, Sparrow became one of the Caribbean's most successful artists."


Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!