Calypso Finals 2024: Who will be the next Calypso Monarch of Trinidad & Tobago?

Original image ©
The stage is set for the grand finale of the National Calypso Monarch competition, which will take place on Sunday, February 11, 2024, at the Queen’s Park Savannah in Port of Spain. Twelve talented calypsonians will vie for the coveted crown and the chance to dethrone the reigning monarch, Ta’Zyah O’Connor. 

The finalists were selected from a pool of 40 semi-finalists who performed at the Calypso Fiesta on February 3, 2024, at Skinner Park in San Fernando. Many calypso fans attended the event, and they enjoyed a variety of songs that included social commentary, humor, and political satire.

Among the finalists are some familiar names as well as some newcomers. The veteran calypsonians include Karene Asche, Kurt Allen, Chuck Gordon, Stacey Sobers, and Winston “Gypsy” Peters, who have all won the title before. They will face stiff competition from the younger generation, such as Aaron Duncan, Brian London, Helon Francis, Mical “Mical Teja” Williams, and Nigel Gobin.

One of the most surprising and exciting finalists is none other than soca superstar Machel Montano, who returned to his musical roots with his song Soul of Calypso. Montano, who has won several international soca titles, said he was thrilled to be back in the historic venue and to share the stage with the best calypsonians in the country.

The finals will also feature the Tobago Monarch, Dillon Thomas, who earned his spot by winning the Tobago Calypso Monarch competition on October 20, 2023, at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet. Thomas impressed the judges with his song, "It Wasn't Me,"  which highlighted what was known as the THA "audiogate" bacchanal.

The current crop of Calypsonians has a long way to go to come close to the exploits of singers like the Mighty Sparrow with 8 wins, the Mighty Chalkdust with 9 wins, and Black Stalin with 5 wins. Our post photo features the one they will always call the Calypso King of the World Emeritus—the Mighty Sparrow. 

The Calypso Monarch finals are expected to be a spectacular show of music, creativity, and culture as the finalists showcase their skills and talents to the judges and the audience. The winner will not only receive the prestigious title and a cash prize but also the honor of representing the art form of calypso, which is an integral part of the Trinidad and Tobago Carnival. The Dimanche Gras will be televised free of charge tonight. Tune in to TTT or WACK radio or television to experience the event.

The finalists/order of appearance:
Name of Singer
  1. Aaron Duncan
  2. Ta'zyah O'Connor
  3. Machel Montano
  4. Helon Francis
  5. Kurt Allen
  6. Dillon Thomas
  7. Roderick Gordon
  8. Winston Peters
  9. Brian London
  10. Karene Asche
  11. Mical Williams
  12. Stacey Sobers
  1. Aaron Duncan
  2. Ta'zyah O'Connor
  3. MM
  4. Helon Francis
  5. The Last Bardjohn of  Calypso
  6. Dilly Suede
  7. Chucky
  8. Gypsy
  9. Brian London
  10. Calypso Princess
  11. Mical Teja
  12. Stacey Sobers
Name of Song
  1. Character
  2. Focus
  3. Soul of Calypso
  4. Representing We
  5. De First Investigation
  6. It Wasn't Me
  7. Charlsie
  8. Ungrateful
  9. Hell
  10. No Excuse
  11. DNA
  12. Respect the Tribe
Reserve: Victoria Cooper Rahim (Queen Victoria) – The Enemy

Let us promote the culture of the Caribbean diaspora:
Our mission is to advance music producers, performers, and Caribbean culture. Take up the role of the cultural vulture and disseminate this article among your acquaintances and on all social media channels. We are on FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram, and SoundCloud. All our posts are available on  FeedSpot/RSS FeedInnoreader/RSS FeedThreads, Bluesky, and via Email Subscription. Thank you in advance.

Production Notes/Music Credits:
Calypso Monarch Finals 2024
Origin: Grand Stand, Queens Park Savannah, Port of Spain, Trinidad.
Genre: Calypso

Please be advised that the music is presented here for your listening pleasure and for promotional purposes only ("Fair Use" Musical Content Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976). No copyright infringement is intended! We don't own the rights to this music; it is presented here for promotional use only. We encourage you to promote the artists and their music; please don't download and share them and rob the artists of needed income! I, nor this blog, make any claims of ownership over any of the videos, songs, photos, or graphics used for this post because they all belong to their respective owners.
♫Please click the music player button below to listen now (a small triangle in the Music player/TV Frame).
  • 00:00:00 - 00 Nataki Thompson
  • 00:11:16 - 01 Aaron Duncan
  • 00:18:56 - 02 Ta'zyah O'Conner
  • 00:24:52 - 03 Machel Montano
  • 00:32:31 - 04 Helon Francis
  • 00:40:15 - 05 Kurt Allen
  • 00:47:45 - 06 Dillon Thomas
  • 00:55:43 - 07 Roderick Gordon
  • 01:02:42 - 08 Gypsy
  • 01:06:19 - 09 Brian London
  • 01:14:10 - 10 Karene Asche
  • 01:20:53 - 11 Mical Teja
  • 01:27:02 - 12 Stacey Sobers-Abraham
  • 01:34:33 - Results
2024 Calypso Monarch Finals (Edited) courtesy Ralph Kambui Edwards YouTube Channel

Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!