Ragga & Soca Monarch Finalists | Vincy Mas 2017

Saint Vincent & the Grenadines is alive with Carnival fever! Having said that the engine of the festival is the music and we all know that the Soca Monarch competition is one that everyone looks forward to experience.

Unlike Trinidad and Tobago the Carnival Committee of Saint Vincent has retained the dual format for their competition. There is a Ragga and Power Soca competition unlike Trinidad and Tobago that have adopted a one Monarch (Soca Champion Groovy and Power). Kudos to the Vincy Massive for retaining the current format. 
Now on to the business of this post. The Finalists for both competitions have been announced. The following information was sourced from Carnivalsvg.com

The following artistes have been selected from the Ragga & Soca Monarch Semifinals held on Saturday 24th June to compete in the finals which is scheduled for Saturday 8th July, 2017 at the Victoria Park commencing at 9:00 pm
Ragga Soca Category
  1. Cleopatra Hendrickson
  2. Allaji ‘Alla-G’ James
  3. Devonte Peters and Utamu Rose (Prime Time)
  4. Jamarlie ‘L Pank’ Stapleton
  5. Keronna ‘Keke’ Samuel
  6. Nickeisha ‘Nikky D Diva’ Pierre
  7. Kalid ‘Kavid’ Walters featuring Delroy ‘Fireman’ Hooper
  8. Shernelle ‘Skarpyon’ Williams
  9. Shaunelle Mc Kenzie
  10. Lornette ‘Fya Empress’ Nedd
  11. Hance John
Soca Monarch Category
  1. Keith ‘Grabba Finnesse’ Charles
  2. Delroy ‘Fireman’ Hooper
  3. Ryan ‘Royal’ Abraham
  4. Lornette ‘Fya Empress’ Nedd
  5. Hance John
  6. Shanel Nanton
  7. Travis ‘Wizskid’ Lynch
  8. Kenroy ‘Rus-T’ Baptiste
  9. Jamarie ‘L Pank’ Stapleton
  10. Alhaji ‘Alla-G’ James
  11. Leslie ‘Flanka’ Chapman
  12. Naphtali Duncan
All artistes are asked to attend a meeting at the CDC’s office on Monday 26th June, 2017 at 5:00 pm. Representatives of the bands K-Netik and Vikinz are also asked to be present at this meeting.

Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!