Lil Natty & Thunda Win Grenada's 2018 Soca Monarch

Photo © Julians Promos
The reigning Soca Monarch was dethroned last night by the singing duo of Lil Natty and Thunda (Wuss Wayz Group). The defending Monarch from 2017, Boyzie, managed to place second but the margin of victory for Lil Natty & Thunda, who sang 'Get In Yuh Section', was 23 points. Now that was impressive indeed. Lil Natty & Thunda showed that their winning ways in the semi-final round of competition was not a fluke. Today they celebrate as the new Soca Monarch Champion of Spice Mas 2018.

By the time the Soca Monarch competition started, the National Stadium was packed and ready to get on in the 'Wuss Wayz' possible (let's get this right, in fun ways). As we stated in the Groovy Soca post for the winner, both shows need to be addressed for the length of time they took to finish and have the results read for fans to go home at a decent hour... that was not the case last night. As a matter of fact, the show was finished at 6:00 am today. 

Here is what we stated for the Groovy Soca Results:
This event featured fourteen singers competing for the crown of Groovy Soca Monarch followed by seventeen artistes performing for the Soca Monarch crown. In the end, the show dragged on because of a late start and the number of singers performing. Something has to be done to ensure that the show finishes at a decent time compared to 6:00 am today. Ideally, there should be ten (10) singers in each competition. This would ensure a smooth flow and earlier finish time.

If you wish to comment on the show format or the competition last night then please use the comment feature of this posting to share your thoughts here with your peers. All comments will be posted. Please don't forget to visit us on our new 'Facebook Fan Page'. Use the search term @sokah2soca and don't forget to "LIKE US". We are now using Instagram; don't forget to #Sokah2Soca and Enjoy!

Now here are the results for the (Power) Soca Monarch Competition:
  1. Dingaan "Lil Natty" Henry & Nyelon "Thunda" Williams - 276 points
  2. Jalon Olive aka Boyzie - 253 points
  3. Jarvis Cuffy aka Muddy - 245 points
 4.Terror the Governor - 229 points
 5. Dash - 215 points
 6. Ledneck - 213 points
 7. Luni Sparks & Electrify - 210 points
 8. Inspector - 209 points 
 9. Shortpree - 205 points
10. Pappi Boi, Vaughn (Tie) - 203 points
12. Little Jerry - 197 points
13. Boogie B - 196 points
14. Killa B - 193 points
15. Stunna - 191 points
16. Desi X - 188 points
17. Pappy Jerry - 184 points

Here is the finals performance that won the Power Soca Monarch for Lil Natty & Thunda

Link here for the Groovy Soca Monarch Results:

Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!