TUCO Calypso Monarch Finals 2017 | Trinidad & Tobago


The TUCO Calypso Monarch Finals on Dimance Gras night is not only about the Calypso Competition; this show celebrates the people who make our Carnival special. We are hyped for the Calypso finals but if you look at the poster above the list of honorees and the listed performers is just awesome. We will celebrate our stars and icons but still yearn for the outcome of the Calypso Monarch competition.

This is it... the Calypso Monarch Finals for Trinidad and Tobago Carnival 2017. It is officially Dimanche Gras night and the Griots are out to tell their stories in song. The male or female Chantuelle, who impressed the judging panel best, will emerge as Calypso Monarch for Trinidad and Tobago Carnival 2017

This competition is not without drama and court maneuvering. The cry for justice headed to the court system resulting in the final fifteen contestant to amount to seventeen. A lesson has been learned and lovers or the art-form have been schooled in the letter of the law resulting in the outcome that nothing is set in stone. The citizenship of Fya Empress was called into question and the threat of court action led to her disqualification and the inclusion of Lady Gypsy. A court ruling later led to Fya Empress inclusion in the finals.

The fact that both 'All Rounder' and 'Lady Gypsy' scored the same number of points and one was included while the other relegated to 'stand-by' contestant was just ridiculous. TUCO erred in it decision making process.  

Tonights competition will see the defending 2016 monarch come up against champions from several categories this year. Terri Lyons won the Social Commentary title, Sasha Ann Moses is the Female Calypso Monarc and Winston Peters regained his title as Extempo Monarch. There are several past Monarchs in the competition. Kurt Allen (2010), Karene Asche (2011), Roderick Gordon (2014, 2015), Weston Rawlings (2007), Dr. Hollis Liverpool (1976, 1977, 1981, 1989, 1993, 2004, 2005 & 2009). It is shaping up to be an excellent competition!

Here is the Order of Appearance for tonight's Calypso Monarch Finals: The Defending Monarch is Devon Seale.
Name of Singer
  1. Marsha Clifton aka Lady Adana
  2. Kurt Allen aka The Last Bad John of Calypso
  3. Devon Seale (2016 Defending Monarch)
  4. Meguella Simon
  5. Anthony Hendrickson aka All Rounder
  6. Victoria Cooper - Rahim aka Queen Victoria
  7. Lornette Nedd-Reid aka Fya Empress
  8. Terri Lyons
  9. Lynete Steele aka Lady Gypsy
  10. Winston Peters aka Gypsy
  11. Karene Asche
  12. Roderick Gordon aka Chuck Gordon
  13. Rondell Donawa
  14. Weston Rawlins aka Cro Cro
  15. Sasha Ann Moses
  16. Heather Mc Intosh
  17. Dr. Hollis Liverpool aka Chalkdust
Name of Song
  1. Social Media
  2. My Corn Tree
  3. I Carmona
  4. Still Colonial
  5. To Be An Icon
  6. The Call To Pray
  7. Guilty
  8. The Phrase
  9. Plight of My People
  10. Angry Land
  11. Caught in the Whirlwind
  12. Wah Yuh Doing
  13. Lip Service
  14. Final Send Off
  15. Main Witness
  16. Games
  17. Learn from Arithmetic


Your comments can also become a Post!