Chutney Soca Monarch Results 2016 | Trinidad &Tobago

The first Competition for Trinidad and Tobago Carnival is now in the record books. Last night (January 23, 2014) the Traditional and Chutney Soca Monarch competitions took place at Skinners Park in San Fernando. The results are in and we have them here for you to celebrate or frown upon. 

Keep in mind that there was no text voting for this show; the competition was in the hands of a judging panel this year. The show offered free entrance before 9:00 pm and coolers inside before 10:00 pm. The people took up both offers; the show was a 'sell-off'!

KI Persad emerged as winner of the Chutney Soca Monarch competition taking home the TT$1M prize money. On the flip side the Traditional Chutney Monarch, Rooplal Girdharrie only took home TT150,000 for first place. This has to change and is very unfair! The Traditional Chutney Monarch should not receive anything under $500,000. Congratulations are extended to the winners and runners up. 

Here are your results for both categories in last night's show at Skinners Park, San Fernando.

Traditional Chutney Monarch: Rooplal Girdharrie
Name of Singer
  1. Rooplal  Girdharrie
  2. Shiva Lakhan
  3. Heeral Rampertap
  4. Asha Kamchee
Name of Song
  1. Banai Loongi
  2. Morey Dulhaniya
  3. Humko Bole
  4. ***
Points Scored
  1. 479
  2. 467
  3. 457
  4. 449
Prize Won
  1. $150.000
  2. $50.000
  3. $50.000
  4. $50.000

Chutney Soca Monarch: KI (Kris Veeshal Persad)
Name of Song
  1. Kris KI Persad
  2. Nishard Mayhroo
  3. Ravi Bissambhar
  4. Rikki Jaimungal
Name of Song
  1. Same Gyal Twice
  2. Therapy
  3. Personal
  4. Kings of the night
Points Scored
  1. 499
  2. 490
  3. 470
  4. 469
Prize Won
  1. $1,000,000
  2. $750,000
  3. $500,000
  4. $100,000

KI, Rooplal G, Nishard M and Veekash Sahadeo (CSM21)
KI and Rooplal G spoke to their supporters, mere moments after being crowned Chutney Soca and Traditional Chutney champs for 2016.
Posted by 103FM The First The Finest on Sunday, January 24, 2016

KI's Winning Performance

KI: Same Gyal Twice (CSM21 Finals)
Here is KI's winning performance at Chutney Soca Monarch 2016. #SameGyalTwice #KIDance
Posted by 103FM The First The Finest on Sunday, January 24, 2016

Rooplal G's Winning Performance

Rooplal G: Banai Loongi (CSM21 Finals)
This performance of "Banai Loongi" wowed the judges and saw Rooplal G grab the Traditional Chutney title at CSM21.
Posted by 103FM The First The Finest on Sunday, January 24, 2016

Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!