Chutney Monarch Finals/Traditional & Soca | Trinidad 2015

Tonight is the night! Two competitions, one venue on Saturday January 31, 2015 at Skinner Park. San Fernando, Trinidad when two monarch will be crowned. The 'Pick 2' Chutney Soca competition will celebrate its 20th Anniversary and tonight will introduce the new Traditional Chutney music competition.

The show is scheduled to start around 9:00 pm Trinidad and Tobago time. The time for North American listeners/viewers (via the Internet) is 8:00 pm (Eastern Standard Time). The results for the top five places for each category are listed at the end of this post!

Here is the Official Press Release from the Chutney Soca Monarch Facebook page followed by the Order of Appearance for both competitions:


On Saturday 31st January, Skinner Park, San Fernando, the Pick 2 Chutney Soca Monarch will celebrate its 20th Anniversary year.

It will be a special night filled with special performances, and of course the crowning of the new Chutney Soca Monarch for 2015.

Saturday night will also see the naming of a Traditional Winner in that category. The first prize of the CSM is $2M and the 1st prize in the Traditional is $500K. All artistes will receive $100K as a minimum appearance fee in both categories.

A presentation will also be made to the BLINK/BMOBILE Emerging Artiste for 2015. This person has been selected by a special committee and has been identified as the artiste that has shown the greatest potential in 2015. They will be presented with a cheque for $20,000 and will be asked to do a guest performance on the night of the Grand Final.

A meeting was held with both judges and artistes on Wednesday at the Southex offices, and all the final preparations are now in place for the big night on Saturday.

The ‘Pick 2’ Chutney Soca Monarch is sponsored by Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism, NLCB, TSTT, AS Brydens, Firepower Fireworks, National Carnival Commission, Win Communications Limited, 103FM, KFC, Lime TT, Anand Low Price Supermarkets, West Indian Tobacco Limited and Southex."

Photo courtesy the website:

Here is the order of Appearance for the Traditional Chutney music competition 2015:
Name of Singer
  1. Kavita Maharaj
  2. Rani Rasika Dindial
  3. Rawytee Ramroop 
  4. Rakesh Yankeran
  5. Drupatee Persad
  6. Rooplal Girdharrie 
  7. Heeralal Rampartap
  8. Ravi B & Rikki Jai
  9. Boodram Holass
Name of Song
  1. Loota Loota
  2. Cooko Ru
  3. Nache Nachaniya
  4. Doo Doo Darling
  5. Dholakawa
  6. Lage Re
  7. Suno Suno
  8. Chalo Awo Radha
  9. Poolam Kay Har
    The following is the order of Appearance for the Chutney Soca Monarch competition 2015:
    Name of Singer
    1. Anil Bheem
    2. Edwin "Crazy" Ayoung
    3. Saleem Beharry
    4. Nadia Batson feat Ravi B
    5. Rooplal Girdharrie
    6. Andy Singh feat. Raymond Ramnarine
    7. Ravi B & Rikki Jai
    8. Nishard Mayrhoo
    9. Artie Butkoon 
    10. KI Persad
    Name of Song
    1. Trinidad
    2. Respect the Elder
    3. Next Man Wife
    4. Sunday Indian Movie
    5. Celebration
    6. Inside Di Party
    7. CSM 20
    8. Mischief Maker
    9. Friend Zone
    10. No Gyal Again
    Here are the results of the Traditional and Chutney Soca Monarch Competitions for Carnival 2015 in Trinidad and Tobago!

    It was the first major competition for Carnival 2015. There was a partial video feed that was terminated early in the competition leaving overseas Chutney music lovers upset. However there was the audio feed and that filled the void. 

    The contestants performed and the results are in. Ravi B and Rikki Jai performing together (duet) in won both categories of the competition. They are the Traditional and Chutney Soca Monarchs for Carnival 2015. Congratulations are extended to the winners and the other participants. 

    Traditional Chutney Monarch Winners - Ravi B and Rikki Jai took first place!
    2. Rooplal G
    3. Drupatee Ramgoonai
    4. Rasika Dindial
    5. Rakesh Yankaran
    Chutney Soca Monarch Winners - Ravi B and Rikki Jai took first place!
    2. K.I. Persad
    3. Nishard M
    4. Crazy
    5. Saleem Beharry


    Your comments can also become a Post!

    Anonymous said…
    Nishard and KI songs were better than Rikki Jai and Ravi B one
    Anonymous said…
    Ravi and riki mash it up
    Haters will hate