Carib Soca Monarch Finals 2013 | Mashramani Guyana

"Rain does only stop cricket" is a Caribbean saying that got tested last Saturday when the Carib Soca Monarch Semi Finals competition was scheduled to take place. Can you guess what we learnt? "Rain does stop Soca Monarch competition too"!
The rain fell and the continuous down pour was enough to cancel the event. Even with  the rainfall the artists did not disappoint their adoring fans; they sang to entertain those who remained!

Yes, they partied in the rain. Now it is not all bad news, especially for the seventeen semi finalists, because they will all move on to the finals on Saturday.  There is a buzz associated with the event now and everyone has their eyes on their favorite artiste - it could turn out to be called "Fantastic Saturday" Mashramani style!

The Carib Soca Monarch competition started in 2004 and is now in its ninth year. There was a brief hiatus when the show did not take place in 2011. However, in 2012 Jumo Primo won the competition and will defend his crown this year. The first prize is $1.5M (Guyanese dollars) with every artist receiving a an appearance fee. There will also be a People's Choice Award. I am unaware of the method that will be used to ascertain the "People's Choice Award" and if there is a money award for the winner. The show will go on next Sunday and we will have the results posted on this blog. If there is a free video feed the link will be posted. 

The following 17 Soca artists will compete in the Carib Soca Monarch Finals on Saturday February 16, 2013 at the National Park to be crowned Soca Monarch of Guyana. They will try and dethrone reigning monarch Jumo “Rubber Waist” Primo for the coveted title.
Wine On Somebody - Jumo

The artists names are listed in alphabetical order with the songs they will sing on Saturday February 16, 2013:
  • Adrian Dutchin - Jook
  • Anthony ‘Chiney  Man’  Abrams - Pose
  • Colbert ‘Magga Man’ Dublin - Shake 
  • Compton ‘Mysterious’ Boyce - We Don’t Know
  • Dwayne ‘King Shepherd’ Semple - More Wuk Up
  • Ernesta Nelson - Twirl
  • Jamal ‘G Money’ Gittens - Big Belly Versus Bumpa
  • James ‘Boss Stevens’ Gordon - Soca Mascara 
  • Jermaine ‘Venom’ Mc Bean - Storm De Road
  • Jonathan ‘Lil Red’ King - Never Stop
  • Kwesi  ‘Ace’ Edmonson - Same Thing
  • Melissa ‘Vanilla’ Roberts and Wilbur ‘B52’ Levans - Tear De Roof
  • Orlando ‘Bonesman’ Johasen - Bun Dem 
  • Rawleston ‘King Murphy’ Warde - Invasion 
  • Roger Bowen - Looking Fuh Bumpa
  • Quacy ‘Avalanche’ Coates - Work It
  • Shondel London - Hard Wuk  

Post a Comment

Your comments can also become a Post!